The BIG Double Reed Day 2014

04829F74-FBEE-4718-8DAB-BA5B12913E2E

Snapshot image of the website for The BIG Double Reed Day

The BIG Double Reed Day is an annual event held at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, and this year it’s scheduled for 16th November 2014. I’ve been every year since 2010 and I’ve got the T-shirts to prove it:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Registrations for this year are open and you can apply online here.

Participants are divided into those under 10 who have not yet passed their grade 3, those aged 11-18 who are grade 3+, and the last group is for adults. These three groups run on three different timetables, and in addition, the events are staggered for oboists and bassoonists so there are never too many people in one place at one time: this helps avoid a massive bunfight at lunchtime.

Workshops run throughout the day and the choice is substantial:

  • Baroque Instrument Try-outs
  • “Big Brother” Try-out (contrabassoon/cor anglais)
  • Contemporary Techniques Workshop
  • Improve Your Articulation Workshop
  • Improve Your Sound Workshop
  • Reed-adjusting
  • Technique Troubleshooter

Additional Classes offered to students grade 6 – 8:

  • Audition Preparation
  • Baroque Performance
  • Music College Q & A Session

In the past I’ve played a baroque oboe, picked up some tips on how to warm up and practise effectively, attended several extremely useful reedmaking sessions, and participated in the playing workshops. There’s even a photograph of me with Alison Teale on the BDRD website:

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 20.32.10

…but I’m not sure if this was taken before or after I hyperventilated. I hadn’t had much sleep, I’d drunk far too much coffee and I got very nervous about performing – all of which meant I took in far too much oxygen while I was trying to play and had to stop. Everyone was very kind, although several people did point out that I’d gone ‘a really funny colour’. However, the very lovely and talented Alison Teale smoothed the situation over by talking about How To Avoid This Sort Of Thing and, in giving me a few minutes to calm down, she gave me time to get my breath back so I could have another go at playing.

There were others who made a far better job of things than I did: here’s Helen Martin, an absolutely lovely lady who goes to the BDRD every year and she always plays something in the workshops. In fact, Helen is often the brave soul who volunteers to go first.

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 20.32.45

This post is just by way of getting the information out there, and I’ll post a complete review after this year’s BDRD. There’s still time to sign up – just go to the website and click on ‘Apply’. See you there!

One thought on “The BIG Double Reed Day 2014

Leave a Reply

